10+ Free Learning Online Events for Educators in April

Part of Upcoming Events

For the next month, I will be participating in many free online events that are really worth checking out. Anyone can view these events live and participate via an online chat, webcam, mic, and more. You will watch live presentations from teachers worldwide on various educational technology projects and in many cases you can receive a certificate of attendance to show to your learning institutions. Below is the description of these events, the links to the webrooms, and the times. Mark them on your calendar and invite a few friends.

Simple K12 Webinars

Thanks to the Simple K12 I present various webinars each month for free.

American TESOL Free Friday Webinars

Thanks to the American TESOL Institute, I conduct free 30 minute online webinars on the Adobe Connect platform every Friday at 4pm EDT (New York Time), 3pm Texas, 1pm LA, 5pm Brasilia, 9pm London, 10pm Paris, 11pm Athens/Istanbul, Sat 8am Sydney time, and Sat. 6am Tokyo time.

Click this link to join as a guest! http://americantesol.adobeconnect.com/terrell

Upcoming topics include:

  • Fri., April 5 Teaching Poetry: 10+ Resources, Tools, Ideas
  • Fri., April 12 We Like to Bring It! BYOT in ELT
  • Fri., April 19 Great Infographic Tools & Lesson Ideas
  • Fri., April 26 Outdoor Activities with Mobile Devices 

Additional details:

TeachMeet Online Apr 20th

The 4th TeachMeet Int’l will be held online at 3:00 pm CET on Saturday, April 20, 2013. These are 3 minute presentations by teachers worldwide on various topics. Check your time zone here.  If you want to take part in the TeachMeet as a speaker fill out this form and prepare a short three-minute presentation. My 3 minute presentation that I just submitted is Conceptualize This! Ideas, Tools & Activities Involving Cognitive Maps.

Learning2gether EdTech Upcoming Presentations

I will be presenting a free webinar, Integrating Bring Your Own Technology/Devices Successfully. This is based on my experiences teaching teens recently throughout Croatia and Slovania under this premise.

Other upcoming events:

  • Monday, April 1 – Vance Stevens on Learning2gether streamed live online from Al Ain Men’s College UAE
  • Sun Mar 31 – James Buckingham and Vance Stevens discuss relevance of “badge” systems for promoting PD amongst teachers both locally and globally
  • Sun Apr 7 or Mon Apr 8, we appreciate volunteer hosts / presenters from now onwards
  • Sun Apr 14 or Mon Apr 15, again we appreciate volunteer hosts / presenters

The Virtual Round Table Free EConference

I am currently co-organizing a free econference with Heike Philp, Berni Wall, & Steven Herder. Proposals are now being accepted to present at the 6th VRT WebCon on language learning technologies, 17-19 May 2013. You are more than welcome to just attend in your pjs! Submit your proposal to present at this free online conference here, http://www.virtual-round-table.com/page/6th-vrt-webcon-call-for-proposals

More Resources

Challenge:

Attend one of these conferences, invite a colleague new to free online professional development, and write a reflection about the experience on your blog or on your social networks.

If you enjoyed this post, you may want to subscribe for FREE to receive regular updates!

Shelly Terrell

Shelly Sanchez Terrell (@ShellTerrell) is an award winning digital innovator, an international speaker/consultant, and the author of Hacking Digital Learning with EdTech Missions, The 30 Goals Challenge for Teachers, and Learning to Go. She has trained teachers and taught English language learners in over 20 countries as an invited guest expert by organizations, like the US Embassy, UNESCO Bangkok, Cultura Inglesa of Brazil, the British Council in Tel Aviv, IATEFL Slovenia, HUPE Croatia, ISTEK Turkey, and Venezuela TESOL. She has been recognized by several organizations and publications as a leader in the movement of teacher driven professional development as the founder and organizer of various online conferences, Twitter chats, and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). Two of the projects she co-organized were shortlisted for ELTons, #ELTChat and the Virtual Round Table Language and Technology online conference. She was named Woman of the Year by the National Association of Professional Women, awarded a Bammy Award as a founder of #Edchat, and named as one of the 10 Most Influential People in EdTech by Tech & Learning. Her greatest joy is being the mother of baby Savannah and Rosco the pug. Shelly has an Honors BA in English with a Minor in Communication and a specialization in Electronic Media from UTSA, a Masters in Curriculum Instruction ESL from the University of Phoenix, and a CELTA from CELT Athens. She regularly shares her tips for effective technology integration via Twitter (@ShellTerrell), Facebook.com/ShellyTerrell, and on her blog, TeacherRebootCamp.com, which has won several awards and recognitions as one of the top ESL, Edtech and Elearning blogs. Find over 400 of her slide presentations at https://www.slideshare.net/ShellTerrell/presentations

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *