Goal 5: Reflect, Step Back, Act #30Goals

Goal 5 of The 30 Goals Challenge 2011

Goal

Short-term– Reflect on your best and worst lesson this week or last semester then share this reflection. Want to go the extra mile? Read comments on the blog and respond to some of the questions and struggles of others in our community!

Long-term– Try recording a lesson live and having a colleague evaluate it. Also, develop a routine to take one day to reflect on your communication with your colleagues, students’ parents, or administrators!

Quote

“Follow effective action with quiet reflection. From the quiet reflection will come even more effective action.”

by Peter F. Drucker

Ideas?

  • Video record one lesson this year and invite a colleague to evaluate you!

**Important Announcements

  • Please note that we will cover 5 goals a week (Monday through Friday). I’m on CET so it might be a different time zone!
  • Join us every Sunday (Beginning this Sun., Feb. 6th) for the Blog Talk Radio show at 11am PST/ 2PM EST/ 7pm GMT/ 8PM CET/ 9PM Athens/ 4PM Buenos Aires/ 5PM Sao Paulo/ 6am, Monday Sydney!  Check more time zones here!
  • Please fill out this Google Form if you reflected on at least 1 goal this week so your name will be entered into a raffle to win an autographed copy of the book!

Challenge:

Reflect on your best and worst lesson this week or last semester then share this reflection. Respond to some of the questions in the comments and struggles of others in our community!

Did you reflect on this goal? Please leave a comment that you accomplished this goal by either posting your own video reflection on Youtube, using the hashtag #30Goals, posting on the 30 Goals Facebook group, adding a post to the 43 Things web/mobile app, or adding a comment below! Feel free to subscribe to The 30 Goals podcast!

Keep an eye out for the book, The 30 Goals Challenge for Educators, that will be published by Eye on Education in the Fall of 2011!

Background music is Momentum by Chuck B featuring Kerri from CC Mixter

If you enjoyed this post, you may want to subscribe for FREE to receive regular updates!

Shelly Terrell

Shelly Sanchez Terrell (@ShellTerrell) is an award winning digital innovator, an international speaker/consultant, and the author of Hacking Digital Learning with EdTech Missions, The 30 Goals Challenge for Teachers, and Learning to Go. She has trained teachers and taught English language learners in over 20 countries as an invited guest expert by organizations, like the US Embassy, UNESCO Bangkok, Cultura Inglesa of Brazil, the British Council in Tel Aviv, IATEFL Slovenia, HUPE Croatia, ISTEK Turkey, and Venezuela TESOL. She has been recognized by several organizations and publications as a leader in the movement of teacher driven professional development as the founder and organizer of various online conferences, Twitter chats, and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). Two of the projects she co-organized were shortlisted for ELTons, #ELTChat and the Virtual Round Table Language and Technology online conference. She was named Woman of the Year by the National Association of Professional Women, awarded a Bammy Award as a founder of #Edchat, and named as one of the 10 Most Influential People in EdTech by Tech & Learning. Her greatest joy is being the mother of baby Savannah and Rosco the pug. Shelly has an Honors BA in English with a Minor in Communication and a specialization in Electronic Media from UTSA, a Masters in Curriculum Instruction ESL from the University of Phoenix, and a CELTA from CELT Athens. She regularly shares her tips for effective technology integration via Twitter (@ShellTerrell), Facebook.com/ShellyTerrell, and on her blog, TeacherRebootCamp.com, which has won several awards and recognitions as one of the top ESL, Edtech and Elearning blogs. Find over 400 of her slide presentations at https://www.slideshare.net/ShellTerrell/presentations

6 comments

  1. As a CC I coach. Yesterday was a PD day discussing Schools of the Future questions. It saddened me to hear teachers say this (technology etc.) was just the pendulum swinging again & it will swing back & it will all be gone.Those that are working at and trying are the quiet ones so no one spoke up. At 60 I am the second oldest on staff & I get it & know it’s about the kids and not me. Luckily, Saturday I attended Greta & Shelly’s session on blogs & wikis with young learners & immediately felt better.I’ve already shared the links with two teachers that would be happy for the additional support. Goal #5 will be a continual work in progress.

    • Hi JoAnn!

      This saddens me as well. Since the technology revolution it has only progressed. Technology continues to blossom and is embedded in the majority of our lives. It is part of our daily routines to suggest otherwise and not prepare students is really sad. This just means those teachers will lose “teachable moments” and a chance to help guide students in “their world”. Thank you for your dedication to helping support teachers especially when you meet resistance.

  2. I really like the Drucker quote in this article. Sometimes it’s hard to sit back and reflect on the actions we’re making when we’re all so busy. Sure, it’s a simple lesson to understand but I’d argue it’s hard to do. I appreciate you sharing it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *