Attend a Virtual Pecha Kucha

You may have heard about the excitement of a Pecha Kucha event. I had the privilege of attending a live one this past Saturday in Paris at a TESOL conference! I recorded all the presentations on my Youtube Channel. Watch Pecha Kucha presentations by Burcu Akyol, Ken Wilson, Lindsay Clandfield, Gavin Dudeney, Jamie Keddie, and Penny Ur. I laughed and learned so much simultaneously. Pecha Kucha has given breath to conferences that bore you with typical PowerPoint presentations!

What is a Pecha Kucha?

A presentation technique invented in Japan by architects Klein and Dytham. About 14 presenters or less deliver back to back PowerPoint presentations that must total 20 slides auto-advancing every 20 seconds. The PowerPoint presentation is only 6 minutes and 40 seconds so the content is highly visual and meaningful. For this reason, these events are gaining popularity at several conferences and have now entered the education conference scene! Watch Heike Philp‘s Pecha Kucha about a Pecha Kucha to find out more!

<

You’re Invited!

Do not miss the opportunity to attend the online Pecha Kucha event this Friday within a web conferencing platform! You will see at least 5 presentations back to back from Burcu Akyol, Sean Banville, Neil Chambers, Marisa Constantinides, and me. I will also be moderating the event and I can guarantee you will have an incredible experience. Topics include Twitter, teaching adults English, preventing Twitter Spam, using the the news as a learning tool, and tips to teaching children.

Time:

Fri 13 November 2009, 9:30pm GMT

Paris 10:30pm, Dubai 1:30am (Sat), Tokyo 6:30am (Sat), Sydney 8:30am (Sat), Los Angeles 1:30pm (Fri), New York 4:30pm (Fri)

For more information visit this website, http://virtual-round-table.ning.com/events/pecha-kucha-night

Hope to see you there!

If you like this post, you may want to check out Burcu Akyol’s recap on the TESOL Paris conference!

Challenge:

Attend one of the FREE Virtual Conference events on Thursday or Friday!

What did you think of the Pecha Kucha videos? Leave a comment below!


Shelly Terrell

Shelly Sanchez Terrell (@ShellTerrell) is an award winning digital innovator, an international speaker/consultant, and the author of Hacking Digital Learning with EdTech Missions, The 30 Goals Challenge for Teachers, and Learning to Go. She has trained teachers and taught English language learners in over 20 countries as an invited guest expert by organizations, like the US Embassy, UNESCO Bangkok, Cultura Inglesa of Brazil, the British Council in Tel Aviv, IATEFL Slovenia, HUPE Croatia, ISTEK Turkey, and Venezuela TESOL. She has been recognized by several organizations and publications as a leader in the movement of teacher driven professional development as the founder and organizer of various online conferences, Twitter chats, and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). Two of the projects she co-organized were shortlisted for ELTons, #ELTChat and the Virtual Round Table Language and Technology online conference. She was named Woman of the Year by the National Association of Professional Women, awarded a Bammy Award as a founder of #Edchat, and named as one of the 10 Most Influential People in EdTech by Tech & Learning. Her greatest joy is being the mother of baby Savannah and Rosco the pug. Shelly has an Honors BA in English with a Minor in Communication and a specialization in Electronic Media from UTSA, a Masters in Curriculum Instruction ESL from the University of Phoenix, and a CELTA from CELT Athens. She regularly shares her tips for effective technology integration via Twitter (@ShellTerrell), Facebook.com/ShellyTerrell, and on her blog, TeacherRebootCamp.com, which has won several awards and recognitions as one of the top ESL, Edtech and Elearning blogs. Find over 400 of her slide presentations at https://www.slideshare.net/ShellTerrell/presentations

4 comments

  1. Shelly, after watching that video on your site, I have heard of this before, I just didn’t remember the term.

    Anyway, very intriguing stuff and I can see a huge use for this at educational conferences, especially those that like to show off “cool” stuff (Web 2.0 maybe).

    It’s basically speed dating but instead of people are presentations or Web 2.0 tools (if you follow along w/ my thought above).

    Great video, I re-blogged on it, or as I like to put it RB @shellyterrell Of course, it would be nice if I had a button that could do all of that for me 😉

  2. Hi,
    Quite informative article. Gives new thoughts to focus. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for the opportunity to write a post. I was very excited as I read about your proposed ideal. Hope that some of your readers will decide to take on the challenge as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

Please prove that you are not a robot.